Awarded annually on the recommendation of the Director of the Institute of Interdisciplinary Studies to a student(s) enrolled in the human rights program who submits the best essay(s) that addresses the topic of human rights and democracy. Essays are also invited to examine the topics from a Canadian perspective. Endowed in 2007 by J. Carlisle Hanson, Q.C.